Mitsubishi Eclipse 4G Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Consumer Whore
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've noticed a lot of new people come in here asking the same questions over and over again, either because the questions have never been answered succinctly enough or because the new guy doesn't know how to use the search function. I was guilty of this myself when I was a noob, but I thought it would be nice to write up a good basic overview of things to consider when beginning to mod a car, whether you're a beginner at performance modding in general or just with this specific car, as well as posting some of the most common answers to some of the most common questions.

I AM BY NO MEANS A PROFESSIONAL NOR DO I HAVE TONS OF EXPERIENCE. Anyone who thinks I've omitted something or gotten something egregiously wrong, PLEASE feel free to correct me or add whatever you think would help. Opinions based on personal experience are welcome too!

One of the most basic questions I had when I got here was "what is a good plan?" Where should you start, what are good simple mods that you can do yourself for a reasonable price that will get you the biggest power gain? There is no correct answer to this question, rather it poses another question itself.

The first thing you should think about when modding your car is "what do I want this car to do?" Do you want a fire breathing, four digit horsepower beast that burns ethanol and runs a .2 in the quarter? Do you want a simple daily driver that has a little extra pep? Or like most of us here, do you just want enough of a car to never get bored with it?

I'll cover all of these briefly but I'm going to devote the majority of my attention to the middle ground: building a car that is fast, track ready, and fun to drive, but that will still provide you with a comfortable drive to work and years of reliable driving without breaking the bank.