Mitsubishi Eclipse 4G Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Installment #1

Joined up here a cuppla months back, lurked a bit while I studied some of the particulars of the 4G platform while I was looking for a suitable 4G GS Eclipse. Started a thread about the ‘07 I was buying and then have been conversing privately via email w/Sabertooth^2 about my build plans. BTW, he’s been a great help in all this and deserves a BIG thanks for all his help!

Ok, so a little long winded back story and then we’ll move on to the actual turbo build parameters for the ‘07 Eclipse GS I picked up in 2-21 in the next installment.

Started playin w/cars a bit late since I was already 30 when I began modding. Started back in the late 80s w/a German built ‘74 Ford Capri w/a 2.0l SOHC motor, same engine used in the Formula Ford race series.

Played with it, tweaked it with stock parts until I finally hit the performance wall and started making refinements to the stock stuff and eventually repurposing other cars parts and aftermarket stuff to improve the cars performance.

Ended up with a little 2.0 that screamed like a banshee and revved like a bike motor with handling that made it feel like it was on rails. This car was light, like 2200lbs, so even with less than 200hp it was a blast to drive, until … I got T-boned by a catering truck. Didn get hurt but the car was toast.

Next up was a ‘78 Ford Courier w/a 2.3l SOHC engine. Played with it for a cuppla years but the pressure from my then GF was too much to bear so the modding stopped at a rebuilt short block, cam, header and exhaust, improved ignition, and a bigger carburetor.