Mitsubishi Eclipse 4G Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 2012 eclipse gs sport 2.4 L. Why cant i find a cold air intake for my car? Its an automatic tranny. I would sure appreciate a point in the right direction

·
2,858 Posts
2009+, the filter rubs on the fog light housing. No big deal. You may also have trouble lining the support for it up, but again doesn't matter. NA I ran that way 3 years
On my 06 the CAI tube rubs a little on my auto transmission which has taken the paint off of the CAI tube, and it barely fits behind my fog light housing anyway and I don't even have fog lights on my Eclipse haha

·
Registered
101 Posts
What I did to get the CAI and fog lights. I got a 90 degree intake piping from advanced auto parts then I put it on the end of the piping then put the air filter. there isn’t much space when you put the extra piping but it works if you want both fog lights and CAI.

·
2,858 Posts
With or without fog lights, you'll still have the housing (just not the pods). It's not really worth cutting out either, as it adds structure to the bumper, which you'll really appreciate if you ever take it off (it's so flimsy)
Not on my 06 unless I'm not following what you're saying. The 09 front bumper is different that the 06-08 especially the fog lights, my 06 fake plastic inserts where the fog lights would be is just an insert that clicks in place of the fogs and my filter literally sits right behind them, I even removed the fake fog light once and had direct air flow onto the filter last summer although it looks really goofy

·
2,858 Posts
I know it's different. But I'm getting at the plastic is moulded with the roundness to it on the 06-08, and a box on the 09+. Both add structural integrity
Yup I got you, r u saying that the 09-12 fake fog light plastic piece is more obstructive to the CAI than the round 06-08 style?

·
Registered
283 Posts