Mitsubishi Eclipse 4G Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay...my first post and I know I am a noob and I promise I just spent 30 minutes searching the whole forum. :D
So...I notice some power loss when the A/C compressor is running. Always been that way. I know that on all cars the compressor will run even when the A/C is off when the selector is in defrost mode...air directed toward the windshield. I really think my compressor is cycling all the time. Even if the selector is off and no the A/C is not lit up. Everything can be off and still I get the cycling. Drives me nuts like when I am taking off from a stop in 1st gear or shifted up to 2nd gear and everything is smooth and then that damn compressor kicks off and the car almost lurches forward. At that point my foot is where it was...no additional gas applied. I've had the car a year now and I've always noticed a difference in power when the A/C compressor cycles on and off and that is exactly what it feels like. I have the GT with the V6 and I have read where a lot of you have said that even taking out the A/C doesn't give much more power. so what is going on? Why does my A/C rob me of power? Is my compressor on its way out? Why the hell is it cycling off and on even when I have the temp at 85 trying to get heat and the air selector is pointed at the floor vents?

Thanks for reading
Michael

·
Basically Stock
2009 GS Turbo. 2007 GT
6,384 Posts
I can't tell you if or why your AC clutch is engaging randomly, but I can tell you that at wide open throttle runs, the AC takes no power away even when turned on because it disconnects.