Mitsubishi Eclipse 4G Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm new to cars and the research I've done hasn't given me any clear issues. I have an 07 eclipse 2.4 L 5 speed manual transmission. It's starting to go out on me, and I'm trying to find a 6 speed replacement for it. Can I go out and pull one from a Spyder to do that, or is there more to it than just that?

Thanks in advance for any help

· TheSlow4g
2007 AWD Turbo GS
287 Posts
Only 6 speed that I know of that would bolt to our engines would be the evo 8 6-speed and that would require an awd swap.

As far as replacement goes, unless you want to put in a lot of extra work, you're limited to the eclipse 5 speed. (F5M42-2-V5P)

I've heard that any F5M42 trans should fit, but they'll potentially have different gear sets. And I'm not 100% positive if they're similar enough to be interchangeable.

· Registered
14 Posts
So, I'm new to cars and the research I've done hasn't given me any clear issues. I have an 07 eclipse 2.4 L 5 speed manual transmission. It's starting to go out on me, and I'm trying to find a 6 speed replacement for it. Can I go out and pull one from a Spyder to do that, or is there more to it than just that?

Thanks in advance for any help